39 Comments

Hi Erin, hi everyone! I'm Megs, I write mostly fantasy and and zombie stories and I am also an illustrator! I found your newsletter through Jodi Meadows (hey Jodi!) and am very here for the frank discussions about trad publishing (oh boy). My goals for the year are to grow my newsletter, draw some sparkly stickers, and finish writing my latest MG!

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Erin Bowman

Hi Erin and everyone here, I'm working on a YA paranormal and interested in serializing it, so I'll be learning from you! Thanks! I'm also in the publishing process (small traditional) for my adult debut historical fiction novel Brighter Than Her Fears, releasing 1/2024. I live and write from Portland, Oregon and Palm Springs, CA. Heading south soon! Look forward to the conversations, Lisa

Expand full comment
Sep 20, 2023Liked by Erin Bowman

Hi Erin—and everyone! I’m Alex and I work in children’s and YA publishing but have always dreamed of publishing my own work so I hope to learn about it all from the other side! I love fantasy, mythology, and folklore—and enjoy writing it too! My goal is to finish a current project I’ve been working on for some time now so I look forward to any helpful advice on the craft.

Thank you so much Erin for building a community for writers and readers!

Expand full comment

Hi all. I read a lot of sci-fi and fantasy, and those are the genres my books combine. I live in East Sussex in the UK. After self publishing novellas since I was twelve on Amazon, my main goal at the moment since leaving school and writing novels is to get traditionally published! I'm very grateful to have found this source of advice.

Expand full comment
May 6, 2023Liked by Erin Bowman

Hi Erin and fellow writers!

So glad to be here! I started writing YA Fantasy quite a few years ago as a hobby, and have loved it ever since. :) I write under pen name SJ Lem (https://www.sjlem.com). My current WIP is a YA Fantasy with a western twist. I feel like I've been working on it forever, but my goal is to have it in the final phases of editing by EOY. :)

btw, Erin, fellow designer here. My full time gig I manage a digital creative team, and just wanted to say your author website is great! I love how expansive it feels and your use of color.

I look forward to chatting with everyone!

Expand full comment
Apr 17, 2023Liked by Erin Bowman

Hi Erin! Hi everyone! I'm Jackie and I love all genres but I have a special place in my heart for sci-fi/thrillers. I'm a huge fan of your writing, Erin, and I'm currently LOVING Dustborn. My debut comes out this November (I used Vengeance Road as a comp while querying it:) and I'm hoping to absorb all the writing/publishing advice I possibly can! My goal this year is to get another book finished and ready for submission. I'm so glad to be here with you all!

Expand full comment

Hi Erin, I'm Sue. I love telling stories about life, navigating the challenges we all face, and finding the lessons/hidden gems always there for the taking. I published my first book Lessons of a Wayward Yogini almost one year ago, October 31, available on Amazon and my website sueferrera.com and began my Substack newsletter on July 22. Like you, I am working to build my SS community! I'm enjoying this platform very much! Look forward to reading your work! 💟

Expand full comment

Greetings! I’m here because I enjoy learning and hearing more on the process of writing. Also, intrigued by your serialization project. I mostly write flash and micro creative nonfiction and, among the other 40+ WIPs 🙃, have a new mother-daughter foodletter launching in 2023.

Expand full comment

Hi Erin!! This is such a good idea.

I'm Lisa :) I write mostly YA fantasy now, but I want to branch out into adult romance/indie publishing.

Thanks for giving me the idea to move into substance. It's everything I miss about the ease of blogging. And I really hope readers (and other writer's too) decide they love it.

Expand full comment

HI ERIN! I'm Jodi. I write mostly YA fantasy. I love to read all kinds of things, mostly fantasy and science fiction, with a little romance and realistic thrown in for fun. I'm a HUGE fan of your books, as you know. I think my favorite (right now) is DUSTBORN. I just love the world and characters so much.

My goal for the rest of the year is to get through some revisions! And maaaybe start writing a new book.

Expand full comment

Hello! I'm Nathaniel Luscombe, author of the upcoming novel Moon Soul (a cozy science fantasy releasing March 11th). I'm super excited to be part of this substack. Your Instagram has been so helpful in answering questions about publishing I didn't even realize I have. My goal this year is for Moon Soul to do well. I'm an indie author right now and I want this to be the year I start treating my writing/publishing seriously and more like a business.

Expand full comment

Hi Erin! Hi everyone!

I am polishing the final draft of my first YA mystery and about to begin querying. I have published in the traditional YA market over the last 15 years, including one historical fiction and six nonfiction books. Caroline (The Deep Dive) invited me.

Expand full comment

Hello! I'm Abby, and I write YA historical/historical fantasy and am working on a New Adult contemporary romance. I've been on sub with 2 projects for what feels like FOREVER, so my goals are to keep learning and improving my craft, build community, and have fun working on this new project to keep myself distracted =)

Expand full comment

Hi, I’m Caroline! I write YA sci-fi and will be going on submission with my first novel this year 🤞🏼I loved Dustborn and used it as a comp while querying. (My book is about a spearfishing girl on the flooded world’s only remaining island who discovers an underwater station of scientists. It has similar themes of religion, control, power, survival). Anyhoo, I love how you structure your writing and revision process and love that I can learn more / support you in a small way :)

Expand full comment

Hi Erin! I'm Sarah and a freelance writer in the outdoor and travel industry. My first book is set to be published by Falcon Guides in May of this year: Hiking with Kids New England. I have another one on the docket from the same publishing company called Swimming Holes of New England. I'm also writing a fantasy novel! I'm here for all the advice on querying, traditional publishing, and your musings for everyday life as a writer :)

My goal this year is to promote my hiking with kids book and revamp my freelancing business to bring on more anchor clients. Also, I reeeeeeeeeally want to finish the first draft of my fantasy novel.

Expand full comment

Hi Erin! Hi Everyone! My name is Saad, I'm a young boy who likes to write. I am fascinated with science and technology and I write everything from MG to hard sci-fi. I'm here for the discussions of the writing process.

Expand full comment

Hi there 👋😊 I'm Yulia and I'm a professional fangirl and a bookaholic 😉 but also, trying to write and writing is verrrrry hard!!! I love connecting with authors and readers. Substack makes it feel ike I'm just chatting with friends over a hot delicious cup of tea

I live in Alaska and am really missing sunshine right now

I've been writing all my life but I never took it seriously but lately I've been thinking of actually sharing my work.

I've been working on a fantasy novel, a YA urban fantasy romance and poetry. Who knows if I'll actually finish anything 😅

Expand full comment

I love what you are doing here. My name is David Houle. My newsletter is in it's third week here on Substack. https://evolutionshift.substack.com The tag line is "A Future Look At Today" and is about the future. I have been a professional futurist for 16 years, traveled the world to speak and have published 13 books. Please come to Evolutionshift if you are concerned about our future on this planet. Thanks!

Expand full comment

HI Erin, I'm Theresa, I live in Michigan and am an avid reader.

I am not a writer, but want to support you as I LOVE all of your books!

I do like to read about how writers approach writing as everyone is so different (and yet, at times, so much alike).

Expand full comment
deletedJun 5, 2023Liked by Erin Bowman
Comment deleted
Expand full comment